Terry Sanford Institute of Public Policy announces 2007 student awards

The following graduating seniors and master’s degree recipients were honored during the Terry Sanford Institute of Public Policy’s graduation ceremonies on May 12:

Undergraduate awards:
Terry Sanford Leadership Award: Trisha A. Bailey, Aurora, Ohio; Jeannette Estela Jimenez Barajas, Inglewood, Calif.; and Eleanor Pishny, Stilwell, Kan.

Bailey organized a community-based research project with the Women’s Center at Duke, was an active member of the Campus Culture Initiative, and worked with the New Women’s Movement and volunteered in an orphanage during her study-abroad semester in Cape Town, South Africa.

Barajas was the founding chair of the Duke Chapter of UNIDOS Council, a national non-profit organization that assists uninsured Hispanics; led Duke’s Latino Student Association; worked as an AFSCME Union Scholar with the United Child Care Union; and tutored in a Durham school.

Pishny co-founded Summer of Service, a program that encourages Duke students to take unpaid, service-based summer internships by providing them with free housing and a stipend through the assistance of Duke alumni. A member of the women’s cross-country and track and field teams, she finished 48th out of 9,000 women in the 2006 Boston Marathon.

Joel Fleishman Distinguished Scholar Award, which recognizes the highest academic achievement (GPA) by a Public Policy Studies major: Andrew J. Nowobilski, O'Fallon, Ill.

Students who wrote a senior thesis and graduated with distinction or highest distinction in public policy: Benjamin S. Abram, Chapel Hill, N.C.; Vijay K. Brihamadesam, Jackson, Miss.; Joe L. Fore, Winter Park, Fl.; Benjamin P. Freedland, La Crosse, Wisc.; Christine E. Gorman, Pembroke, Mass.; Theodore J. Lauzen, Aurora, Ill.; Cristina M. Nunez, Miami Lakes, Fl.; Ashley J. Nutter, Vienna, Va.; Megan R. O’Flynn, Lutz, Fla.; Sophia C. Peters, Potomoc, Md.; Sarah E. Rutstein, Seattle, Wash.; Nena M. Sanderson, Raleigh, N.C.; and David A. Snider, Boston, Mass.

Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award
Benjamin S. Abram, Chapel Hill, N.C. and Trisha A. Bailey, Aurora, Ohio.

Christine Lim, Caldwell, N.J., will study in South Korea.

Phi Beta Kappa
Katherine Keeley, Potomac, Md.; Andrew J. Nowobilski, O'Fallon, Ill.; Ashley J. Nutter, Vienna, Va.; Michelle D. Roy, Dublin, Ohio; and Nena Sanderson, Raleigh, N.C.

Samuel DuBois Cook Award
Nirmala Chilamkurti, Gurnee, Ill.

Student Affairs Distinguished Leadership and Service Award
Jeannette Estela Jimenez Barajas, Inglewood, Calif.

William J. Griffith University Service Award
Benjamin S. Abram, Chapel Hill, N.C.; Lisette M. Babaian, Manhasset, N.Y.; Jeanette E. Barajas, Inglewood, Calif.; David B. Brown, Washington, D.C.; Damjan P. Denoble, Durham, N.C.; Joe L. Fore, Winter Park, Fla.; Felix Y. Li, Los Gatos, Calif.; Chauncey R. Nartey, Suffern, N.Y.; Anna Raven-Hansen, Arlington, Va.

Master of Public Policy Program awards:
MPP Outstanding Student Award: Emily Grenzke and Mark Mitchell.
The award recognizes students with a strong academic record and an excellent master's project who make significant contributions to the intellectual and professional vitality of the Institute.

Richard A. Stubbing Teacher Mentor Award: Visiting Associate Professor Corinne “Cory” Krupp. Krupp is director of graduate studies for the Program on International Development Policy.