Public Policy ’08 Graduates Honored at Ceremonies

Sarah Gilleskie and Joel FleishmanThe 2008 graduation ceremonies for the Sanford Institute honored 152 undergraduates, 51 Master of Public Policy graduates, and 32 Program in International Development Policy graduates.

Sarah A. Gilleskie received the Joel Fleishman Distinguished Scholar Award for highest academic achievement.

Amanda A. Dorsey and Brinton Johnston Wadsworth Markle received the Terry Sanford Leadership Award. Dorsey co-founded “Student U,” which pairs Durham middle-school students with tutors from area universities. The program grew out of her work in the Enterprising Leadership class taught by Tony Brown, and will continue this summer. Markle was a founder of Rival magazine, run by Duke and UNC- Chapel Hill students, raising the initial seed money and managing the advertising sales team. He was co-captain of the Duke water polo club team, helped found the women’s team, and was co-founder of the Duke Microfinance Leadership Initiative.

Amanda A. Dorsey and Brinton Johnston Wadsworth MarkleDavid A. Fiocco received the first award given for Best Honors Thesis for “Social Capital and Market Participation in Rural Sierra Leone.”

Ten students completed undergraduate honors theses and graduated with distinction or highest distinction: Thomas A. Burcher II, Samuel Broder-Fingert, Elizabeth B. Crawford, Daniel M. Frendl, David A. Fiocco, Sarah A. Gordon, Kate D. Guthrie, Justin M. Malestsky, Brinton Johnston Wadsworth Markle, Chiara E. McPhee, Rachel A. McLaughlin, Meghan D. O’Toole, Ankit Shrivastava and Sarah K. Wallace.

Fiocco and McLaughlin have received Fulbright grants. Fiocco will work with the Ministry of Agriculture and Makerere University in Uganda to help rebuild markets for farmers displaced by war. His work will be modeled on his research in Sierra Leone. McLaughlin will teach English in Indonesia.

Professor Ken Rogerson and Rachel McLaughlinMcLaughlin also received the first Sanford Ambassador award in recognition of her work with the PPS Majors Union and as a member of the Institute’s Board of Visitors.

Three students won the William J. Griffith University Service award:  Fiocco, Gordon and Syed Mohammad Hasnain Zaidi. Gordon also received the Betsy Alden Outstanding Service-learning Award.

Co-winners of the MPP Outstanding Student Award were Emily Cupito and Edwin McLenaghan. ITT/Terry Sanford Professor of PPS Philip Cook earned the 2008 Richard Stubbing Graduate Teaching/ Mentoring Award. In a surprise honor, MPP students recognized MPP Program Director Helene McAdams with a staff award.

Edwin McLenaghan and Emily CupitoFourteen graduating Duke public policy students were selected for Presidential Management Fellowships this year of the 23 who applied. They are:
Elizabeth Brown, Emily Cupito, Brooks Daverman, Theresa Finn (PIDP), Ben Gibson, Jeff Hilliard, Lindsay Kurnath (MPP/MEM), Rob Lalka, Janette Lehoux , Ed McLenaghan, Mark Reichhardt, Grace Stephens, Christine Vaughn and Jason Watkins.