Stan Paskoff Among Faculty, Staff Honored with Presidential Awards

This week, President Richard H. Brodhead honored five Duke employees with the Presidential Award for outstanding service in 2013.

A Presidential Award is one of the highest honors given to Duke faculty and staff and recognizes employees from five work categories who have made distinctive contributions to the university or health system. Sanford School Manager of Desktop Services Stan Paskoff was one of this year's five Presidential Award Winners.

During an awards ceremony Wednesday at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, Brodhead highlighted each recipient, noting their contribution to Duke through service to students, patients and their colleagues. He said they represent the kind of exceptional work ethic and enthusiasm that others should strive toward.

"In each of these categories, one person was chosen by the winners from last year to receive the very highest honor," Brodhead said. "These are people who receive presidential awards. They represent the kind of devoted work that allows Duke to be such a special place."

In addition to the five Presidential Award winners, Brodhead recognized 12 Meritorious Service Award winners. Presidential Award winners receive a Presidential Award Medallion and check for $1,000. Meritorious Award winners receive a plaque and $100.

Within the Sanford School of Public Policy, Stan Paskoff has become known as a fast-moving problem solver. He has overseen technology initiatives within the school and is lauded for his customer service and ability to handle a variety of challenges, from transferring sensitive data to synching computer systems.

His coworkers note a positive involvement as chair of the schools Internal Communications Committee, for which Paskoff helps plan events, support faculty and extend outreach into the Durham community.

"People in the school feel cared for, and Stan is one of the primary reasons," said Kelly Brownell, dean of Sanford.